About the 2019 McGredy Winder SOLGM Local Government Excellence Awards®

Entries for the 2019 McGredy Winder SOLGM Local Government Excellence Awards® will open on 15 October 2018.

The McGredy Winder SOLGM Local Government Excellence Awards® are for programmes, projects and approaches that demonstrate professional excellence and innovation in local government management. Councils are encouraged to enter to demonstrate the impact of their work on the local government sector and to gain recognition for their excellent work. All entries must demonstrate transferability to other local authorities.

The 2019 Award Categories

The Capability Group Award for Innovation in Organisation and People Development

Is your local authority effectively developing its people and culture?

This category recognises innovative approaches to building an exceptional organisational culture or capability through the application of transformational leadership. Entries in this category might be multi-year programmes or one-off projects but they will involve organisational redesign, human resource management, capability development or related aspects.

The LGFA Award for Transforming Service Delivery

On-going fiscal constraints, increasing regulatory standards and increasing community expectations are challenging us to find new ways of delivering a better service experience.

This category recognises programmes or projects that result in an exceptional service experience through innovative delivery models or the redesign of business processes or practices. The programme or project can relate to any area of council activity which is about delivering improved value for money to ratepayers.

The Minister of Local Government's Award for Innovation in Council-Community Relations

Are your council’s community relationships delivering results?

This category recognises programmes, projects or initiatives that demonstrate outstanding results through innovative means of community engagement or community empowerment. Entries may come from any area of local government activity, but must have community engagement, empowerment, or partnership as a key aspect. Entries may include successful collaboration with private or community organisations.

The BERL Award for Collaborative Government Action

What benefits has your community achieved through your council working with other local or central government agencies?

This category recognises outstanding results that have been achieved through local authorities working with other government agencies. This could include programmes or projects from any area of local government activity, provided there is a demonstrable community benefit.

The Tompkins Wake Award for Better Regulation and Policy

Is your policy development or regulatory development cutting edge?

This category recognises the development of robust and effective evidence-based policy or local regulatory initiatives. Any policy, plan or regulatory initiative is eligible for this award. Entrants will be expected to clearly demonstrate that their initiative was based on the application of the principles of effective policy or regulatory design and implementation, and development of an evidence base.

The GHD Award for Innovation in Asset and Infrastructure

How do you get the best performance from your assets?

This category recognises procedures, planning or practices that demonstrate innovative approaches to the management of assets. This might be an excellent infrastructure strategy or asset plan, an innovative approach to demand management, a new use of technology, or the innovative use or creation of asset related data. Submission of constructed projects will not in themselves meet these criteria.

To find out about the 2018 winners, click here.

Awards will be presented at our Gala Dinner and The Marketplace being held on 11 April 2019.

If you have any queries regarding these Awards please contact raymond.horan@solgm.org.nz or phone 04 978 1283.

To apply download and complete and application form here

Completed, signed and scanned entries must be submitted by email to Raymond Horan – Raymond.Horan@solgm.org.nz by 5pm on 8 February 2019 with 2019 Excellence Awards Application in the subject line. The videos described in clause 4 above may be submitted at any time up to 5pm on 1 March 2019.

About the 2017 McGredy Winder SOLGM Local Government Excellence Awards®