At this year's Annual General Meeting (AGM), members were recognised in three ways.

Long Service Certificate Award

Annually, SOLGM recognises members who have been working in local government for over twenty years. They epitomize commitment and dedication to the craft of local government and they bring with them a wealth of knowledge and expertise that cannot easily be quantified.

This year, the following members received Long Service Certificate Awards.

- Andrew Boyle, Palmerston North District Council, 20 years
- Peter Wimsett, Tararua District Council, 20 years
- Charlotte Almond, Whanganui District Council, 25 years
- Paul Brake, Ashburton District Council, 25 years
- Sheryl Bryant, Palmerston North District Council, 25 years
- Fiona Greenhill, South Taranaki District Council, 25 years
- Doug Law, Horowhenua District Council, 25 years
- Ross McLeod, Hastings District Council, 25 years
- Sharon Robinson, South Waikato District Council, 25 years
- Tom McDowall, Kawerau District Council, 30 years
- Susan Jones, Gore District Council, 30 years
- Craig Stevenson, South Taranaki District Council, 40 years
- Ken Swinney, Environment Southland, 40 years

Richard King, the CE of Invercargill City Council, will be retiring next year. Since he won’t reach the 50 year milestone, we recognised his significant 48 years this year.

If you haven’t already let SOLGM know how many years you’ve worked for New Zealand Councils, please email so that you can qualify for a Long Service Certificate Award.

Distinguished Management Award
This Award is given to Members who have contributed substantially to the status of the local government profession by establishing a reputation for professional service. Only one award can be made each year, but one is not awarded every year.

This year an Award went to Stephen Town of Auckland Council.

Life Member of the Society
SOLGM members elected Barbara McKerrow as a Life Member. With the addition of Barbara, SOLGM currently has 25 Life Members.

Barbara McKerrow is the COO of Wellington City Council. Before this, she was Chief Executive of New Plymouth District Council for nine years. She is known as an engaging, innovative leader and for her role in the transformation of New Plymouth from low profile provincial city to one of New Zealand’s most liveable cities.

As President of SOLGM for three years, Barbara oversaw a review of the SOLGM Constitution, a review of the Code of Ethics, a move towards financial sustainability for SOLGM after the decision not to merge with LGNZ and a strengthening of the central government – local government relationship. She also represented SOLGM at events in Australia, Canada, Ireland, the United States and the United Kingdom.

In February 2015, Barbara hosted the ICMA Executive Board and the ICMA International Committee in Wellington, where they travelled to have their quarterly meetings. This opportunity allowed SOLGM to showcase New Zealand and NZ local government to more than 80 international participants from the USA and other countries.

Other outcomes from the 2017 AGM
Membership Subscription rates will not increase for the 2018/2019 year. That's good news for existing members and potential new members.

The next Annual General Meeting will be held on 10 September 2018 in Queenstown.

Entries opening next week
Next week, entries will open for the 2018 McGredy Winder SOLGM Local Government Excellence Awards®, Brookfields Emerging Leader of the Year Award, Leadership Scholarships and Overseas Manager Exchanges. Watch this space!

Diversity Works New Zealand Survey
Last chance to share your views on diversity.

What is the most important diversity issue for your organisation? Diversity Works New Zealand want to hear from you.

To participate please click here to complete the survey before 5pm on Thursday 12 October 2017.

By taking part in this research survey you are helping to build critical insights into the diversity issues that are a priority for New Zealand organisations.